You can become a member of BBE either as an organisation or as an individual

Autumn training line-up announced

Woman standing on a field in front of a dark sky she is playing the cornet and wearing a long patterned dress
Wednesday, 10 August, 2022

Brass Bands England has today announced its line-up of training and networking events for the Autumn, through to the end of 2022.

The busy schedule sees a varied programme, which includes free and discounted training for bands and individuals who are members of BBE.

Events include a series of webinars, drop-in and networking sessions and in-depth training sessions on the topics of Safeguarding and Band Governance.

I'm not a member, can I participate?

Every term BBE offers some training events and webinars absolutely free for everyone, including non-members. This time, all Crowdfunding events and First Steps for New Starters drop-in sessions will be free for all to access.

Member benefits

Brass Bands England Members have some excellent benefits for the events series, with access to all Webinars and Drop-In Sessions free of charge, discounted rates for BandSafe safeguarding training and exclusive access to Band Governance Bootcamp.

Book now to secure your place

Attendance of certain events is limited so booking early is advised.

BBE’s Education and Development Manager, Sarah Baumann, commented: “We’ve been delighted at the ongoing excellent attendance at the virtual events across the last year, and want to continue offering a wide range of training and networking sessions suitable for all our members. Fundraising, band governance and youth support continue to be the most requested topics from members so we’ve given them high-priority across this term.

We’re delighted to welcome the Association of Brass Band Adjudicators to this term’s events calendar with an insightful session on adjudication - ideal for anyone considering taking steps to becoming an adjudicator themselves! The Brass Band Conference is the ideal opportunity to network in person with brass banders from across the country, and I am thrilled that this event will be in-person once again.”

Sarah continued: “We’ve already started planning for our Spring 2023 events, and as always we want to hear from our members as to what topics they would like to see programmed.”

Any topics you would like to see featured in future events or members resources can be suggested via email to events@bbe.org.uk.

Full Events Programme

Webinars and Zoom Workshops

Making an Application to Arts Council England’s Project Grants | Tuesday 6 September 6PM
Essentials of Adjudication with AoBBA | Tuesday 22 November 7PM

Drop in and Networking Sessions

Safeguarding Essentials | Tuesday 4 October 7PM
Youth Champs 2023 | Tuesday 11 October 6PM
First Steps for New Starters | Thursday 3 November 7PM

Crowdfunding

#BrassBandsAtChristmas 2023 | Wednesday 5 October 7PM
How to Make a Great Crowdfunding Page | Wednesday 26 October 7PM
How to Promote your Crowdfunding Page | Wednesday 9 November 7PM
Marketing and Social Media Toolkit | Wednesday 30 November 7PM

Training Sessions

Band Governance Bootcamp | Thursday 8 & Thursday 22 September 6PM
BandSafe | Wednesday 21 September 6PM
Band Governance Bootcamp | Sunday 25 September & Sunday 9 October 10AM
BandSafe | Saturday 8 October 9AM
BandSafe | Wednesday 12 October 6PM
Band Governance Bootcamp | Monday 7 November & Monday 21 November 6PM
BandSafe | Tuesday 8 November 6PM
BandSafe | Saturday 26 November 9AM
BandSafe | Tuesday 6 December 6PM

In-person Events

The Brass Band Conference 2022 | Saturday 22 Octobe